new season Blues

13 02 2009

The Super 14 kicks off tonight and I’m feeling a wee bit meh about it. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Blues and I’ll always support them, but its frikkin cricket season. Hell when the game kicks off tonight in Perth the Black Caps will be playing the Aussies in Brisbane! We’ve still got the Indians to play over here in a few weeks as well. Besides its summer not autumn or winter and yesterday was the equal hottest day ever for Auckland! It’s not rugby time.

There’s another reason for feeling a bit meh about the Blues. I’m just not confident about their chances. I think they’ll be good, just not champion calibre good. The Blues won the competition in 1996, 1997 and 2003. But the thing that makes those good Blues teams stand out is their first five. Carlos Spencer dominated for years and then Isa Nacewa and last year Nick Evans. This year we have the pu-pu-platter of Jimmy Gopperth and Tasesa Lavea. Neither inspire me with great confidence.

We have an awesome forward pack chock full of All Blacks (with Ali Williams back! Yay!), some slippery quick backs (hello Joe Rokocoko!) plus a powerful midfielder who looks like the second coming of Umaga (that’s you Isaia Toeava) but we have some average playmakers. I don’t know why the Blues haven’t gone out and recruited someone. With all the talent at other positions it seems a real weakness.

Whatever the case the Blues have provided me with many of my happiest memories over the years. I remember waiting at the airport to pick up my mum watching the Blues obliterate a South African team with sublime running rugby. In the ten minutes I was there they scored three tries. It was awesome. Then there were the Carlos Spencer moments. Too many to list but the favourite would have to be the try to beat the Crusaders where he crossed the line then deliberately walked out to the touch line to touch it down. Bliss.

If only they can translate that to this year!

Actions

Information

One response

13 02 2009
beerandsport

I’m quite looking forward to the season. I’m tipping the Blues for a win in Perth tonight, your forwards should destroy the Force..

Leave a Reply

