1 down 60 odd to go … and a congrats!

16 01 2009

This morning I finished off a first chapter that I am happy with. Yay me! Only took me several drafts and a whole lot of rethinking to achieve πŸ˜‰ I think I’ve nailed it though. I’ve managed to maintain the qualities I liked from the previous version and at the same time added things which get us into the action much sooner (the inciting incident of the novel happens here rather than four chapters later) and will keep the reader gripped.

Kirsty read half of it and she says that I’ve layered it really well. By that she means I’ve added depth to the world. It’s only a little thing but she really feels that this world is real – kind of important when you’re writing fantasy.

Only 60 odd more chapters to go!

Oh, and I saw this post on Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist. Apparently New Zealander Russell Kirkpatrick had the best selling sff debut in America this year. While I’m not a fan (and yes I have read them) I would like to wish him congrats! Now I just need to follow him in a couple of years πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

