gorilla dancing

25 09 2008

As he often does, Joe Abercrombie has provided an invaluable insight into the process of writing. What makes this even more exciting for me is he’s describing the exact process I am going through right now and DOUBLY exciting is the fact that for the most part my process is the same as him. I feel like doing a little gorilla dance over that fact.

Yeah yeah I know, you really want to picture me dancing like a gorilla – if you only knew that I DO dance like a gorilla (and an elephant and a tiger and a chicken and a … you get the idea) at least twice a week in my day job as a Children’s Librarian. At first you get all self conscious about it, after all it’s not just the under 5 set watching you but their parents, guardians, grandparents and general members of the public, but then you just blot them out and focus on the kids. And I tell you what, there’s nothing as awesome as going into a kindy and having 40 little people calling your name and hanging on your every word and action. It’s like I’m the Wiggles or something. Anyway, I digress.

Why would I be dancing in the first place? It confirms that what I’m doing is the right thing, AND it’s coming from a successful writer. That’s always a good feeling.  

A bit scary however is his assertion that at 235,000 words his novel is too big. As it currently stands my novel is over 260,000 words. Ouch. I’m determined to send it out in this format and see what reaction it gets but I have a feeling I might need to ultimately reshape it by splitting it in two. Ah well, I’ll deal with that later.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2008
J.C

that is a big novel! lol do you think you’d have a hard time breaking it into two if you needed to?
It’s always nice to read somewhere that the way you are doing things is the way other people have found successful as well – and thanks for the link to Joe Abercrombie’s blog, there is some really great info on there 🙂

25 09 2008
Rob

in some ways yes and in other ways no.

there are some stories that naturally lend themselves to being brought to the foreground however if i do that there’ll a big juggle to shift some stories around. Ironically it’ll probably bring it closer to the very first draft with the added stuff slipping to book 2.

What is probably easier would be to do a radical chop and removing one character’s POV and arc completely. that might drop 30,000 words or so. However dropping that character’s story and POV has impacts down the line for books 2 and 3.

It’s all a juggle really!

and glad to help 🙂

Leave a Reply

