editing = double plus good

23 09 2008

I’m slowly starting to enjoy the process of reviewing and editing my novel. At first it seemed a struggle, I was of the attitude that “It’s done! I don’t have to do any more to it” and I was literally forcing myself to read it. Then I realised that that’s not a good thing. If I have to force myself to read it then how can I expect a reader to read it? So I changed my attitude and its working. For the past few days I’ve been enjoying my novel both as a writer and as a reader.

I think the break that I took from it helped. I tried to write other things in the meantime but none of them really drove and inspired me like my novel did.

The break also helped me realise that I need to “kill my babies”. If I’d begun my revisions immediately following the completion of the latest draft I probably would have let some sections slide but now with distance I realise that I can slice out that beautiful observation on a character’s past. I know it but it doesn’t really add much to THIS story.

So yeah editing = double plus good

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 09 2008
J.C

Good on you for getting into the editing work, I think a little bit of time and space can definitely make all the difference and give you the clarity you need to know what should stay and what should go.

24 09 2008
Rob

Thanks JC!

Leave a Reply

